Meyer-Ward ID debate

As I mentioned in my previous post, the confluence between scientific thought and faith has long been a concern for me. Toward that end, I have been interested in the debate between evolutionists and those who see in nature the evidence for design. When I began college the primary critics of evolution were creationists; in recent years this criticism has taken the form of ID.

Over the years, one of the ways this difference has been explored has been through debates. I became intimately familiar with such debates in the early eighties when I helped organize a debate on the Iowa State campus between creationist Duane Gish and atheist Dr. John Patterson, then a professor at Iowa State. It was interesting, exciting, and raised many important questions, as well as sparking a dialogue on campus.

Recently, I was listening to another debate, this time between Dr. Stephen Meyer, a geophysicist and fellow with the Discovery Institute, and paleontologist Peter Ward from the University of Washington. What struck me about the debate, compared with earlier ones I had heard, was that the discussion had come a long way; both men were articulate, knowledgeable, and relatively respectful. And the science for intelligent design (ID) is there; thanks in large part to our growing understanding of the genome, ID is a science based on solid evidence – and a solid understanding of the relationship between intelligence, complexity, and design.

If you are interested in such things, I highly recommend the debate as a 'primer' on the issue. Audio files can be found here. I realize these files may be too big for some connections; unfortunately there is no transcript yet. There was an earlier debate that day between Meyers and Ward on an Oregon radio show – the transcript of that exchange is here. I would be interested in any feedback anyone has on these issues.

6 Responses to Meyer-Ward ID debate

  1. Ken Beacon says:

    Hey Jack! I just got a new computer.

    I read this debate about 3 weeks ago. Meyer stomped Ward IMO.

    Ken1325

  2. Jack says:

    Hey Ken,

    Thanks for stopping by; I see you are kicking things up on the Science & Origins threads – that’s good, they need some knowledgeable input over there. Hope you comment here often, bring your friends. 🙂

  3. Ken Beacon says:

    Thanks Jack – will do. 🙂

    I don’t know how long I will stay over there but here you’d better get a cot as I will be reading and commenting like a second home. Without you or Borne the place over there is duller and unfun.

    In other news- I bought and read Traisping into Evolution, the Discovery Institute’s official response to the Kitzmiller v. Dover Trial. Great but a short read.

  4. Ken Beacon says:

    Jack,

    A link to the transcript of the debate is here:

    http://www.discovery.org/scripts/viewDB/index.php?command=view&id=3097

    A link in the blog would be nice.

    Cheers,
    Ken

  5. […] In a previous post I linked to an audio of the Peter Ward/ Stephen Meyer Intelligent Design debate. Here is a transcript of the debate for those with slower connections (or for those that prefer to read). […]

  6. pTP1yH Blogs rating, add your blog to be rated for free:
    http://blogsrate.net

Leave a Reply

