Life in the balance in South Dakota

Interesting news from South Dakota concerning the recent strict anti-abortion law passed in the state legislature. Opponents of the law have managed to gather the required number of signatures to place the law on the Nov. 7th ballot, allowing SD citizens the option to vote keep the law as is or have it removed from the books.

There appear to be three possible outcomes to this effort; the first being that the opponents win the day in South Dakota and the legal barriers to abortions are removed (again). In that case, they have undermined a regular argument they have made, namely that the courts must act to preserve a women's right to abort because democratic processes aren't sufficient protectors of essential rights.

The second outcome might be that the law holds up, in which case the oft repeated idea that Roe v. Wade is a 'popular' ruling will be dealt a blow.

Of course, in the case of a loss, an appeal to the Court is likely. But this is a rather circuitous route to take; normally abortion rights groups run directly to the local judge; why attempt a democratic solution first?

I suspect this is because abortion rights advocates are afraid that the tide has turned on the court; a series of appeals is more likely than ever to end with an erosion of legal support for Roe. In that case, a number of states may move to enact such laws.

Overall this seems to be a lose-lose-lose proposition for the pro-abortion bunch; they must now utilize the democratic process they have so far disdained, and in doing so, undermine their primary venue for advancing their cause – liberal pro-abortion courts.

Of course, in the interim, the greatest loss continues to be the lives of the unborn.

18 Responses to Life in the balance in South Dakota

  1. Billy Bob says:

    When are we going to see more activity around these parts? 🙂

  2. A-donna says:

    We may differ somewhat on creation but not here! Your site is great! A-donna

  3. Ken says:

    While I completely agree with your article I have to mirror BIlly Bob’s query. To wit: when are we going to get a bit mroe writing from you? 🙂

  4. Come on, Jack. You know you want to see how well your scientific ‘theory’ holds up. Give it a shot.

    http://www.richarddawkins.net/forum

  5. Bettawrekonize says:

    I just found out you got banned from forums.christianity.com

    The thread where you apparently got banned is this one

    http://forums.christianity.com/m_4507086/mpage_8/key_kennedy/tm.htm#4510572

    THAT SUCKS, There was no justification for your ban. I want you back on the forums and so do many other people (see http://forums.christianity.com/Oh_where%2c_oh_where_has_that_Jhud_gone%25%25%25/m_4535632/mpage_1/tm.htm#0 and I would have commented there if the thread didn’t close but I only found out after the thread closed). Is there anyone I could complain to about getting you unbanned or something I could do? If not, tell me what forum you will move to and I will sign up there. You should NOT be banned, this really sucks, they had no good reason to ban you regardless of whether or not they agreed or disagreed with you. Yes, what you said may have been kinda harsh but didn’t deserve a ban and even if it did most moderators at least TELL you before they start banning people (at least it used to be this way). Now they’re going to alienate all their members, we should move somewhere else.

  6. bZirk says:

    Jack,

    A bunch of people miss your comments. Hope you come back to Crosswalk (or whatever it’s called where you are). But if not, I hope you at least rev up this blog again. Your voice should be heard somewhere.

    Lisa

  7. jaol1fe says:

    I have to agree with Lisa, Jack. It’s like the PTB have decided to get rid of the few voices of sanity there.

    Stephk

  8. jackhudson says:

    Hey folks,

    Thanks for the feedback, sorry I took so long to reply – quite frankly I needed to take a break from posting for awhile.

    I am still not sure why I got banned from Crosswalk; just got a generic e-mail with no explanation. My sense is I was part of the ‘civility’ purge – I fear the powers that be at Crosswalk, where I have posted for five years (and had even been asked to moderate at one point) have decided to exchange hard truths for a semblance of civility and peace. I never pretended to be the most sympathetic person posting, but I always tried to be fair, direct and honest.

    But that is their prerogative, which I have always respected – just sad it had to end that way.

    That being said, perhaps it’s time for me to be more expository and less combative – I think I will fix this place up and post here for those who are interested, and perhaps respond to interesting posts on Crosswalk and other issues of interest. Thanks for all the encouraging words – let others there know I am still alive!

  9. bZirk says:

    Good to hear from you, Jack! Exposition is great, but is it always appropriate? I do recall that Jesus at one point took a whip. Not saying that’s the approach all the time or even most, but He did do that at one point. Sometimes mincing words is just not effective.

    I’ve started dabbling in the blosophere (horrors LOL!), and I actually wrote a piece about this. The point was that we’re so cussed proud of being dignified that we miss those opportunities when hitting between the eyes is necessary. But hey, I tend to hit between the eyes, so of course I love that style. The downside is that it’s gotten me in trouble more times than I care to count. Hopefully, I’m learning to curb that in my “old age.”

    Look forward to reading your viewpoints — expository or otherwise. 😀

  10. jackhudson says:

    Hey, thanks for responding so quickly Lisa – I was thinking of taking up the topic of ‘civility’ as my next post here. 🙂 I will have to check out your post on it.

    One prayer request – I recently enetered Washington Post’s ‘Great Pundit Contest’ – it’s a long shot, but I thought it was worth trying for – it’s up to the Lord of course.

    If you get a chance, could you let Stephk, drmark, DanJames, etc know that I am stil alive!

  11. bZirk says:

    I will definitely pray about that, and best wishes! I’ll also let anyone and everyone I can think of know and especially those you mention.

  12. Bettawrekonize says:

    “Thanks for all the encouraging words – let others there know I am still alive!”

    Apparently, as the thread that I posted has been closed, we are not allowed to even mention you (the moderators on the thread said something to that extent).

  13. Bettawrekonize says:

    (that is the thread that I posted the link to on here, someone else started the thread).

    I messaged as many people as I could about your blog once I found out you were banned after reading that particular (now closed) thread. But now I will message them and tell them about your thread (assuming their inboxes aren’t full of course).

  14. Bettawrekonize says:

    Ok I sent a message to those three that you mentioned.

  15. DrMark says:

    I am shocked, Jack! You were banned from crosswalk with nothing more than a generic email notification? Whoa, I’d say I need a bigger dose of civility than you ever did.

    Well, for what it’s worth, things aren’t near as exciting without your rapier wit and even sharper intellect. I have slowed down my posts on the S&O threads since it always seems to be rehashing the same old issues. I really have little time or patience to respond to faith-based uniformitarian naturalism these days!

    God bless you, Jack, and thank you for sharing your God-given abilities to understand His creation, Mark

  16. jackhudson says:

    Thanks guys – it’s good to ‘hear’ from you again.

    Just so you know I have no ill will towards the powers that be at CW – they are free to admininstrate their site however they see fit – I am sure it’s a tough job. I was just sad that I didn’t at least get an opportunity to know what it was I was supposed to have done wrong. Oh well – I had many enjoyable years there, and got to know some wonderful and wise folks there – amongst whom I count all of you.

    I will start posting here as soon as possible. God bless.

  17. DanJames says:

    I actually was wondering what had happened! Thanks for the time that you spent on the forums, Jack. At one point you had mentioned that your mission at the Faith Community Network threads was not so much to win people over to a particular worldview, but rather to encourage the faithful. Well allow me to encourage you; you have definitely encouraged me. You really made it easy for me, a biologist, to be on the Bible-believing side. I hope you make it back some day, but either way, mission accomplished, brother.

    DanJames

  18. bZirk says:

    I’ll throw in with that and say that I had my college-aged daughter read some of your stuff a while back. It really helped her. I should have mentioned it then, but oh well, we’re here now. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

