Observations

Because it’s getting rather hard to tell whom the Left has offically consigned as a bigot and whom it has not, I thought I would provide a handy chart so that one could quickly tell the difference. Feel free to print it out and carry it in your wallet for a handy reference. (Oh, and feel free to add more to the categories via comments below):

Bigotry Chart

Bigotry Chart

10 Responses to Observations

  1. Nate says:

    Several important classes of bigots have been left off. For example:

    Non union employees
    People who don’t think taxes should encompass 50% of their income
    People who don’t believe in massive wasteful government spending and programs

    To name a few.

  2. jackhudson says:

    Great additions, hard to fit in the circle 🙂

  3. kenetiks says:

    Wow, how did gun owners wind up there? I’m pretty liberal and I own guns. Did you call me a bigot or are you saying I’m calling me a bigot? =)

    Also midwesterners? Taking shots in the dark aren’t we Jack?

    @Nate
    Even filing no dependents my taxes aren’t 50%, you’re doing it wrong. Massive wasteful government? It’s been pretty massive, it’s always been wasteful. This isn’t a new gig. I find it odd that everyone is targeting in full force now instead of when the Republicans were playing king of the hill.

  4. kenetiks says:

    Oh, I happen to live under the bible belt as well. So I’m pretty southern. I actually know a good many independent, thoughtful black people as well and they’re pretty good folks so I’m at a loss as to why that is even on there.

  5. jackhudson says:

    Kennetics – good to see you again.

    Wow, you are a gun-toting, Midwestern/Southerner? Hate to say it but you are solidly in the bigotry circle. I’m a friggin’ Gay Marxist by comparison. Don’t tell my wife.

  6. kenetiks says:

    Kennetics – good to see you again.

    Wow, you are a gun-toting, Midwestern/Southerner? Hate to say it but you are solidly in the bigotry circle. I’m a friggin’ Gay Marxist by comparison. Don’t tell my wife.

    Hey Jack, you too =) I took a break from my online commenting to play Star Wars Galaxies =P

    Actually I’m a gun toting Mississippian; obviously a bigot lol. And not to worry, your secret identity is safe with me.

    On a serious note though, I do see somewhat where this list came from. Growing up I’ve seen enormous amounts of bigotry and racism pouring from a better part of the people surrounding me growing up in MS and the anti southern reverse bigotry of stereotyping southerners as all inbred sister(and cousins, share the love and so forth) loving uneducated clansmen. It’s rather odd to observe. Ggiven the fact that I actually HAVE met a racist clan recruit who really WAS married to his first cousin makes it all the more surreal.

    I don’t want to narrow down my physical area too much online but the Charleston high school prom was segregated for blacks and whites until 2008. You read that right, 2008. Morgan Freeman(who has a house in Charleston) offered to pay for the prom in 1997 and was ignored. He offered again in 2008.

    Here’s the first part of the HBO documentary.

  7. jackhudson says:

    As someone who raised up North (way up North) by parents from the deep South (Mississippi and Louisiana) I ran into a lot of disparities between the stereotypes and reality. I always found it ironic that my parents had more black friends than the parents of supposedly ‘liberal’ Northern white families we lived around. Such people would never actually say anything that could be construed as racist, but they simply never got around to actually associating with anyone outside their circles, which were often quite small. There is prejudice in the South for sure, but it rarely falls into the neat lines typically portrayed in the media.

  8. jackhudson says:

    Oh, and I will have to check out the vid later – I’m on an iPad right now.

  9. kenetiks says:

    jackhudson says:
    October 22, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    As someone who raised up North (way up North) by parents from the deep South (Mississippi and Louisiana) I ran into a lot of disparities between the stereotypes and reality. I always found it ironic that my parents had more black friends than the parents of supposedly ‘liberal’ Northern white families we lived around. Such people would never actually say anything that could be construed as racist, but they simply never got around to actually associating with anyone outside their circles, which were often quite small. There is prejudice in the South for sure, but it rarely falls into the neat lines typically portrayed in the media.

    The irony of the north and south antagonism wasn’t lost on myself either.

    As for the prejudice in the south, it both does and doesn’t fall into the neat lines portrayed in the media. Most of the times it doesn’t, folks are generally thoughtful and you don’t normally see anything of the sort.

    On the other hand, I’ve witness just how clean cut it can get. I’ve watched things that you couldn’t have made any more stereotypical, even in true hollywood fashion. The town in the video(Charleston) was not very far away from my hometown and my best friend growing up was from there and attended high school in Charleston. My hometown didn’t have segregated proms but the racism from both sides was blatant and obvious to see. The KKK even marched through town after a near riot in the highschool gym(of my hometown) over mandatory attendance of the MLK Day rally(and some racial obscenities). At least I think that’s what started it. Anyway, I hear both sides have now made concessions, they now hold Martin Luther King/Robert E Lee Day I’m told.

  10. Nate says:

    That’s the “real tax rate”, not what you pay in April. Consider property taxes(even if you pay rent someone pays the property tax and that is factored into your rent), sales taxes, excise taxes, etc.

    That doesn’t take into account the taxes that business pays, that again is factored into prices for products that you pay, plus sales tax on top.

    Around 50 cents of every dollar you earn ends up in government hands.

    Some more, some less. it matters what state you live in and what locale.

    As far as my comment on massive wasteful government, your right. It has almost always been too big. Since 2008 it has gotten even bigger. More government programs equals even bigger and more wasteful. I’m not saying its a new issue, but its one that getting worse.

Leave a Reply

