No Greater Love

Veteran’s Day is a yearly reminder of two things – my greatest regret, and the man I was named after.

My greatest regret is that I never served in the military myself. When I was the age most enter the military, I was a left-wing radical, distrustful of authority and skeptical of the values that motivate most to serve. By the time I had matured and realized what I had missed, the opportunity had already passed. I am the only man in my immediate family not to serve in the military.

This day also serves as a reminder of the man I was named after – my father’s younger brother Jack. I never met the man, he died on a hill in Italy when he stepped on a land mine long before I was born. He is forever frozen in history as a lanky, smiley 18 year old, but I exist in part as a living memorial to his service.

I am in fact blessed to have been surrounded by men who gave their all – a father and uncles who served in some of the worst battles of WWII, a brother who served during the Gulf War, and a brother-in-law who served in Bosnia and Iraq.

Scripture notes that there is no greater love than to lay one’s life down for one’s friends; today we celebrate the men and women who have demonstrated this sort of love to us all.

5 Responses to No Greater Love

  1. Nate says:

    I’m spending tomorrow filling out forms the VA tells me will take 3 hours. All information they already have.

    Happy veterans day to me. šŸ˜¦ From the VA.

  2. Justin says:

    My grandfather was still 6’3″ at the age of 92, and he’d had a stoop for the better part of a decade. He was in Africa then Italy and then France in the signal core. Still carrying around a few small pieces of an artillery shell in his lower back.

    I’ll never forget the image of his size 12 hands picking up his worn out Bible and heading to church with a smile.

  3. Justin says:

    Hey Nate, thanks a ton for your service to our country. Hope the forms go quickly and you can spend some time relaxing.

  4. jackhudson says:

    Same here, Nate, I appreciate service to us all, I’ll pray it goes more smoothly.

  5. Nate says:

    I don’t even think God would be able to navigate the VA system…

Leave a Reply

