Observations

Something I have noted over the years in my conversations with atheists is the amount of time they spend coming up with numerous complex and often ad hoc theories to explain away the ‘apparent’ design of the universe and life. In fact, some scientists and philosophers have devoted their lives to it.

 One of the things I have learned in life generally and I think it applies here, is that if someone has to concoct elaborate and convoluted reasons to explain why something isn’t actually what it obviously appears to be, they are probably selling you something.

9 Responses to Observations

  1. Frank says:

    But even accepting design at face value, aren’t you even a little bit curious about why God would not only create a vast universe that is almost entirely inhospitable to mankind, but also fill the one small part of it where we can live with masses of deadly hazards?

  2. Justin says:

    I can see why God would create a vast universe apparently devoid of life or at least downright inhospitable to life… to show his immense power.

    For the most part, our solar system and galaxy are also fine tuned for life – without Jupiter our orbits would be unstable and a different distance from the sun, and many of the meteorites that Jupiter attracts would ultimately hit the Earth.

    I believe it was Josh McDowell who raises a good point with respect to design and a double standard in science as it relates to SETI. If believers or Christian scientists are not able to infer “design” when we look at things like DNA, or the laws of physics, how does SETI expect to conclusively prove life exists somewhere else by simply receiving a radio signal? Why wouldn’t scientists appeal to the same metaphysical hand waving to explain away a signal from another planet as well?

    We’d be allowed to infer design, and therefore life on another planet, simply from receiving a radio signal with a certain pattern or frequency, but we cannot infer design from the 28.8 terabytes of instructional data contained in DNA. Bizarre.

    But I can see why Dawkins and others balk at the thought of intelligent design but not at alien life – alien life doesn’t have a set of standards that it demands we live by.

  3. jackhudson says:

    @Frank

    Actually, I tend to find that materialists are of two minds about this – on one hand they will insist that life is the product of ordinary processes and that it is likely life thrives throughout the universe. On the other hand they will question why God would not create a universe more generally hospitable to mankind. Those two ideas seem contradictory.

    Personally, considering our track record here, I am rather thankful we don’t inhabit a trillion worlds.

  4. mary says:

    The fact of the matter really is that whether you believe in God or not, until we die we probably will never know the absolute truth, that’s where faith comes in. People spend a lot of time trying to disprove Him, but they just can’t. You cannot show 100% proof that God is not real, and you can’t show 100% proof he is. I believe in him, but that’s me. I like to think that I spend most of my time being good to others, and enjoying my life for what little time I am here for, because living and family is what’s important. I don’t know why most of us choose to spend most of our time arguing, bickering, debating, and fighting. It’s pretty useless. I choose not to live my life that way.

  5. The Judge says:

    Hi Jack,

    I’m interested in the process of how you converted to Christianity. Your blog is pretty extensive, so I wonder if you could link me to the parts where you discuss your own conversion and your reasons for believing?

    Thanks!
    Judge.

  6. jackhudson says:

    Hi Judge, Thanks for posting – I have appreciated many of the thoughts I have seen you post elsewhere.

    I have bits and pieces scattered throughout the site, but the closest I have come to a more comprehensive take on becoming a Christian is in this post here. I tend not to write about myself very often because I try to avoid making the issues about me, but lately I have thought that I need to write about my own history more.

    I am always open to questions, sometimes they help me collect thoughts in more organized manner.

  7. Frank says:

    @jackhudson

    I don’t think the two ideas you mention are contradictory. Different parts of the universe may support various forms of life without supporting human life specifically. Essentially the question you allude to is one of whether humanity is especially privileged with regard to having the universe support its development.

  8. jackhudson says:

    Well if the universe is filled with life of any sort, it would seem it is being put to good use. As a matter of fact, I rather think it’s pretty amazing as it is. I have a hard time imagining how an atheist imagines God would have made it different or more convincing with respect to His existence – I mean if we existed on a single planet floating in the blackness, would that be a greater indicator that our world was designed for us?

  9. kenetiks says:

    @Jack

    Well if the universe is filled with life of any sort, it would seem it is being put to good use. As a matter of fact, I rather think it’s pretty amazing as it is. I have a hard time imagining how an atheist imagines God would have made it different or more convincing with respect to His existence – I mean if we existed on a single planet floating in the blackness, would that be a greater indicator that our world was designed for us?

    Possibly.

    Simply rephrase the question. What would a universe that was not “designed” look like?

Leave a Reply

