Friday Fun-ness

Most people think they know who the first man in space was, but in reality most people haven’t even heard of him – I didn’t until I was watching a broadcast of John Glenn going on the space shuttle.

In 1959 and 1960 Joseph Kittinger rode a ballon up to the edge of space – and then jumped from the platform and plunged back to earth. Thankfully he brought a camera:

I don’t know if someone would be allowed to do this today; our society has become to risk averse to allow men to officially set records of this sort.

4 Responses to Friday Fun-ness

  1. Its amazing, I’m sure somebody wanted to do it not too long ago, but it was deemed too dangerous!

  2. kenetiks says:

    For the record, I watched the video from his jump a few years ago and man, would I love to have taken that ride!

    To be the guy that jumped back to the earth from freaking space! Well almost space, but close enough that I would be more than willing to give him the title.

    I remember watching it and thinking “now what does this guy think he’s…..OMG he jumped!”.

  3. jackhudson says:

    That is exactly what I thought when I first saw. What amazes me is how little you hear about what he did. I didn’t know anything about it until relatively recently.

  4. kenetiks says:

    I know and it’s a shame too. This man’s name should be brought up right along side the top names in space exploration.

    He did the unimaginable and whatever else, he surely deserves our admiration for his amazing achievement.

Leave a Reply

