Observations

Show me a country whose origins are primarily atheistic and I will show you a country no atheist who was born into a country whose origins are Christian wants to live in.

5 Responses to Observations

  1. “Show me a country whose origins are primarily atheistic”

    Show me a country whose origins are just atheistic and founded on rationalism and scientific inquiry, I’ll gladly move there, because it doesn’t exist yet.

  2. jackhudson says:

    Actually, i would be sincerely curious to hear how you think a country could be founded on ‘rationalism and scientific inquiry’?

  3. “Actually, i would be sincerely curious to hear how you think a country could be founded on ‘rationalism and scientific inquiry’?”

    I would be seriously curious to hear how a country could be founded on atheism. Atheism is the lack of belief in gods…there’s nothing there to found a country on. Throw in Enlightenment principles and ethics, and I’m all for it.

  4. Justin says:

    Throw in Enlightenment principles and ethics, and I’m all for it.

    Whose ethics?

  5. jackhudson says:

    “I would be seriously curious to hear how a country could be founded on atheism. Atheism is the lack of belief in gods…there’s nothing there to found a country on. Throw in Enlightenment principles and ethics, and I’m all for it.”

    Well, other than the fact that you not-so-nimbly avoided answering the question, in a sense you are simply proving my point. Atheism alone isn’t sufficient to create a human culture – the Enlightenment was firmly ensconced in the Christian West, and the ethics that proceeded from it don’t occur as the result of ordinary human civilization. My point appears to remain unchallenged.

Leave a Reply

