Observations

I personally find it refreshing when there are brief moments of honesty and clarity from gay marriage advocates on their true intentions with regard to marriage:

“It’s a no-brainer that we should have the right to marry, but I also think equally that it’s a no-brainer that the institution of marriage should not exist.

That causes my brain some trouble. And part of why it causes me trouble is because fighting for gay marriage generally involves lying about what we are going to do with marriage when we get there—because we lie that the institution of marriage is not going to change, and that is a lie. The institution of marriage is going to change, and it should change. And again, I don’t think it should exist. And I don’t like taking part in creating fictions about my life. That’s sort of not what I had in mind when I came out thirty years ago. I have three kids who have five parents, more or less, and I don’t see why they shouldn’t have five parents legally….

[After my divorce,] I met my new partner, and she had just had a baby, and that baby’s biological father is my brother, and my daughter’s biological father is a man who lives in Russia, and my adopted son also considers him his father. So the five parents break down into two groups of three…. And really, I would like to live in a legal system that is capable of reflecting that reality. And I don’t think that’s compatible with the institution of marriage.”

Author and lesbian activist Masha Gessen at a recent Sydney Writers Festival panel discussion.

8 Responses to Observations

  1. Justin says:

    Seems like regression that is being sold as progression. Just temporary farm-animal-mating patterns and it’s all good. I hate to be blunt, but that’s what it looks like. There’s nothing in that which resembles love or committment.

  2. James Bradshaw says:

    So Masha Gessen speaks for all gay couples and all gay men and women in the US? I see.

    Then RJ Rushdoony, the Christian Reconstructionist who advocated a theonomy and implementing the death penalty for homosexuality and infidelity (amongst other things), was one of the few men honest about the true intent of Christians in establishing a fascist theocratic state.

    At least we understand each other!

  3. jackhudson says:

    She isn’t exactly some fringe figure James – she was was an editor for The Advocate and has written for mainstream publications like the New Republic and Slate. But if her views are so antagonistic to those pushing for gay marriage, then their must be an outcry against her saying this.

    Maybe you could point me to where that is?

  4. James Bradshaw says:

    “But if her views are so antagonistic to those pushing for gay marriage, then their must be an outcry against her saying this.”

    There is: from individuals who disagree with her and don’t embrace her values. Gays are part of a very diverse community. There’s no “representative” any more than there’s a representative for “conservatives”. Do you agree with everything Gary North, Lew Rockwell, Pat Buchanan, Michelle Malkin or Ann Coulter write? Does Redstate.com always toe the ideological line as it’s defined by the National Review, FirstThings or AmericanThinker? Hardly. Yet, these are all “conservatives”, no (or at least “anti-liberal”)?

    You’re just attempting to disparage the entire gay population. Why? Who knows, but it’s not much different than those who try to write off all Christians as hateful bigots as if they were all Westboro Baptist members.

  5. jackhudson says:

    Like I said James, I would welcome some indication of where such individuals have decried her claims – you didn’t actually cite any.

    Now obviously I am not ‘disparaging the entire gay population’ because not every gay person seeks to change the definition and nature of marriage – but obviously some, like Ms. Geesen do, and she rightfully acknowledges this can’t happen without destroying marriage as we currently define it.

  6. Mike D says:

    Where is the evidence that the Christian community has decried the crackpot claims of self-proclaimed ‘Third Eagle of the Apocalypse” William Tapley? He’s not exactly some fringe figure, Jack – his Youtube videos have collectively amassed millions of views and he’s been featured on CNN.

    Anyway, I’m really curious to hear your explanation of how allowing gay people to marry will destroy marriage for straight people. Future blog entry for you, perhaps?

  7. jackhudson says:

    Where is the evidence that the Christian community has decried the crackpot claims of self-proclaimed ‘Third Eagle of the Apocalypse” William Tapley? He’s not exactly some fringe figure, Jack – his Youtube videos have collectively amassed millions of views and he’s been featured on CNN.

    Do you really mean to compare a youtube famous individual to a woman who has been published by the International Gay & Lesbian Human Rights Commission? I mean how much more mainstream does a gay voice have to be to not be considered fringe? And where are the voices in the gay community decrying her as fringe? Does any mainstream organization publish Tapley’s views?

    Anyway, I’m really curious to hear your explanation of how allowing gay people to marry will destroy marriage for straight people. Future blog entry for you, perhaps?

    I am not the one who said it would destroy marriage; the lesbian activist I quoted above claimed it would.

  8. J B says:

    What is better …To lie, or to have a reprobate mind? Personally, I wouldnt want either condition, but that is your predicament. Animals are in harmony with their creator, but us Humans are just too smart for our own boots ofttimes

Leave a Reply

