Friday Fun-ness

I always like to do Christmas related items this time of year, because quite frankly I am a sap for Christmas and because Christmas has great meaning for anyone who believes it marks the birth of Jesus Christ, an event central to every Christian’s faith.

This is a a ‘Flash Mob’ that occurred in 2010 at the South Bay Galleria in Redondo Beach, California performed by singers from the Journey of Faith church there. It strikes me how these songs immediately change the atmosphere of the place. It is a small picture of how the spiritual transforms the secular, bringing peace and joy to the harassed and harried crowds in a way no secular performance ever could. It is a small picture of how the birth of Christ was a transformative spiritual event, and not just a historical one.  Enjoy.

 

 

 

15 Responses to Friday Fun-ness

  1. Really very quaint but I am ecstatic to clarify the fact that Christmas and Christ have no relationship. I don’t suppose I need to enumerate the facts of the history of this holiday, its origin in paganism, etc, so I wont. My reason for commenting on this is due to the fact that you once again obscure reality with fantasy. This seems to be the motif of your blog, though, and I don’t hope to change that. I only hope to find here a Christian who would like to justify their belief, since this is a christian commune of sorts. I am looking for the best artillery you crusaders have to offer, so please, please, come to me with your most outstanding logic, come with all your false righteousness and debate with a lone, blind, ignorant, damned non-believer. If you’d like, picture yourself as the conduit of light against darkness, robe yourself in the most splendid purple cloth of divine reason and defeat me, a tired mortal wretch with one leg over the cliff already.

  2. jackhudson says:

    There are almost six hundred posts on this blog dealing with a wide variety of issues covering philosophy, history, science, apologetics, theology, and current events. You are free to make some worthwhile comment on anyone of them.

    Or you could continue to be an incoherent blowhard. That’s up to you.

  3. Please Jack, withhold your vitriol. Try to quell that insignificant anger that swells every time you feel slighted. If you cant help yourself, attack me with subtle barbs, else you sound like the blowhard ignoramus who knows little beyond the nearsighted logic of his preacher. If you would like to make a point as to how I am incoherent, I am all ears, but do not throw insults in the manner of a school-yard bully. If you cannot rise above puerile name-calling, then please disregard the urge to comment on my writings, as I hold a prejudice against foolishness.

  4. jackhudson says:

    Mono, I’m nothing but amused at your monologues. Like I said, when you have a substantive point to make on any of my posts, let me know, I would be glad to dialogue with you.

  5. Bettawrekonize says:

    It’s sad that Christmas is mostly a commercial holiday, as suggested by the volumes of commercials and advertising that occur well in advanced. As a Christian I almost see it as offensive that they would turn a day that’s supposed to be about worshiping God into a season that’s mostly about making money.

  6. Bettawrekonize says:

    Though I don’t speak German, I found this rather funny.

    http://www.snotr.com/video/8965/

  7. Monolithic writes: “I only hope to find here a Christian who would like to justify their belief”

    I’m not sure that’s a fair proposition. As a marginal Deist (that is … someone who thinks it conceivable that God set the universe in motion but then fell asleep or set out for greener pastures), I have my own ideas of what is right and wrong that are not based on any holy book (although these ideas may coincidentally agree).

    For example, I believe that human trafficking and slavery is wrong. Is it objectively wrong? I don’t know. According to Reformed pastor John MacArthur, slavery is morally neutral. However, my beliefs result from my respect for human freedom and autonomy and the ability to decide one’s fate for themselves.

    How much further do I have to go to defend this belief? Do you need something quantifiable and measurable to prove that freedom is “better” than slavery? If so, what kind?

    Everyone has beliefs that shape who they are. Most of us can defend them … up to a point. Beyond that … it just is, and you will be hard-pressed to get an explanation why.

    I really enjoy listening to Chris Hitchens (and am saddened he left us too early). However, I was always surprised by the fact that his arguments were frequently moral ones, despite the fact that such arguments presuppose that there is a set of moral truths about which all reasonable people should agree exist. Where he derived these from, I’m uncertain.

  8. I was not referring to belief in general, only the dogmatic Christian variety that every Christian must accept in order to be termed a Christian, like immaculate conception,and so forth. I have no argument that could have any effect on a deist, because I cannot entirely rule out such conceptions of god, and because they are not presumptuous propagandists, I have no inclination to refute them.

    There is no reason to defend such beliefs in human rights with me, I am an atheist, nonetheless I am no devil. I am a human and have humanistic conceptions of good and evil that relate loosely to the religious variety of ethics, but differ in many ways as well. The moral truths that Hitchens held were not truths in the sense that they agreed with some universal judge, these were not truths in the universal sense, they are simply true for every rational human being. From a humans standpoint alone are they truths, they are biological truths.
    Hitchens realized that humans are not good because of belief in God, they are good because they are genetically disposed to be peaceable, loving, honest, etc., or because they were brought up to respect and desire such virtues. God doesn’t necessarily have anything to do with it, in fact Hitchens correlated inane beliefs in the divine with a majority of the destruction and death prevalent in history and today.

    “my beliefs result from my respect for human freedom and autonomy and the ability to decide one’s fate for themselves.”

    This is justification in itself, this is the only reason that I respect, and the Christian would likely call this hubris and Satanic.

  9. jackhudson says:

    Not satanic, it’s just that your personal preference isn’t a justification.

  10. Do you purposefully misinterpret everything or are you as foolish as your Christian beliefs? My personal preference is justification, to me, and that is the only justification there is. I do not pander to a god, I do not borrow my interpretation of justice from a chimerical book.

  11. jackhudson says:

    So if I say I prefer to believe God exists, that is sufficient justification to believe He exists?

  12. In your own mind you can conjure whatever illusion you like, you as a person have that right. But, you are nonetheless as subject as everyone else to provide some sort of evidence as justification for you inane statements when you say that they are fact, or present them as anything but illusions procured from your mind.

  13. jackhudson says:

    You just said, “My personal preference is justification, to me, and that is the only justification there is.” If that is true, then I can assert as fact any personal preference I want.

    Either that or your previous statement isn’t true.

  14. Yes, that is true. But when I convey my belief to others, I find that I need to provide reasons outside my own right of personal preference for my assertion to be justified. You have that right to believe in fairies, but when you convey these beliefs as facts, as something that exists outside your mind, you need evidence to justify this, to solidify it. I never made the fiat that the Christian doesn’t have the right to his Christianity, I simply asked if the Christian would like to substantiate his claims here, since he so often likes to blurt out fairy tales and consider them facts. So yes, you can assert, for instance, that sin is fact: this is a free country, but your assertion is unsubstantiated and thus unjustified unless you provide some form of evidence beyond the fact that it is what you feel is true.

  15. jackhudson says:

    Maybe you could take a breather mono and answer the question I am asking. I gladly accept the notion that ideas one claims to be true should be based on some sort of objective evidence – but we are talking about your beliefs vis a vis human morality – are your beliefs true or not? And if so, what evidence do you have to justify that claim?

Leave a Reply

